jfrankjamesMy name is James F. Johnson, Jr. and my father was killed in WWII while flying a B-24 over Hungary during the war. When he was alive he used his middle name of Franklin and liked to be called Frank. When I decided to write books I took the name J. Frank James in honor of my father. The interesting thing is that during the war he was last stationed in Savannah, Georgia which has often been mentioned in a lot of my books as well as an old abandoned airbase called Harris Neck Airfield.

For several years during WWII Harris Neck Airfield was used as a staging point for the detection of German submarines off the coast of Georgia that were lying in wait for the Liberty supply ships leaving the Port of Brunswick in Brunswick, Georgia and the Navy port of Mayport established in 1942 just outside of Jacksonville, Florida.

In my book titled The Run Begins, I discuss the nature of Harris Neck Airfield and its strategic use during the war; however, I changed the name of Harris Neck to that of Turtle Point as I was advised that people would not understand the meaning of the name Harris Neck. Hindsight being twenty-twenty, I think I should have kept the name Harris Neck. The reason being that a man named William Thomas Harris, Jr. initially owned the parcel which totaled over 2,700 acres and had an interesting history as well.

The term ‘Neck’ was used to denote an area’s shape. Instead of peninsula the term ‘neck’ was used.

Over the years the area property passed through various owners who utilized the parcel for agricultural purposes. Even the famous tobacco baron, Pierre Lorillard, had a hand in the area’s development. And so it was until in the 1930s the Civil Aeronautics Authority acquired the parcel and built a small runway for use at a local level. The stayed under Federal control all during WWII. I was surprised to learn that my father did some training at the small field and when I learned of that the area took on a whole different meaning for me.

I am not a historical writer and don’t want to be, but I do enjoy wrapping my books in some historical information from time to time to give the reader a little more perspective as to where I am coming from when they read my books.


Frank James is the author of The Lou Malloy Crime Series, which is expected to span 20 books. The series follows Lou Malloy, a hardened criminal who did 15 years in prison for the theft of $15 million, and his partner Hilary Kelly, a private investigator.

Dead Money Run is the first book in The Lou Malloy Crime Series.

Genres: Crime / Fiction / Mystery / Thriller / Suspense / Action / Adventure

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/J.-Frank-James/e/B00EJLQRI0

 

Synopsis:19406070

Lou Malloy learns of his sister’s death right before he is released from prison, having served 15 years for the theft of $15 million from an Indian casino. He wants two things: to keep the $15 million, which no one has been able to find, and to track down and punish whoever killed his sister.   

Lou Malloy teams up with Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. In no time, Lou has found the hidden $15 million, recovered guns and ammunition hidden with the money, and murdered two low-level mobsters and fed them to the crocodiles.

As the body count rises, the story grows more complex and his sister’s death becomes more mysterious.   

To purchase your own copy of Dead Money Run on Amazon, buy HERE

 

Praise for Dead Money Run:

 

“Dead Money Run is a hard-boiled thriller. It is a book of short chapters and almost unrelenting excitement as Lou and Hillary Kelly avoid cops, kill mobsters, and try to unravel the mystery of who killed Lou’s sister and why.” – Reviewed by Wally Wood at BookPleasures.com

 

“Fans of James Ellroy and Elmore Leonard are going to love James’ ingenious capers, devious characters and wry humor. The entire book goes down like a strong yet smooth shot of bourbon.” – Reviewed by BestThrillers.com

 

“Dead Money Run by J. Frank James is a pure adrenalin rush from the very beginning. Yes, it is very violent with some strong language, but filled with excitement that keeps the reader wanting to know what comes next.” – Reviewed by Paul Johnson for Readers’ Favorite

 

“J. Frank James did a very nice job constructing a fast moving plot for Dead Money Run. It is intriguing and thrilling. However, the reader should be prepared for a bit of gruesome violence. Yet, the violence doesn’t override the mystery and suspense within the story. Hold on to whatever it is that you’re sitting on as you read this story, because James is about to take you on a wild ride.” – Reviewed by Red City Review

 

About the Author:

 

Frank James has a passion for writing, and he certainly has the knowledge and experience to write realistic crime thrillers, thanks to his extensive background in law. Jim attended law school, where he was a member of the law review. He even went on to pass the state bar and started his own law practice that specialized in complex litigation. Jim’s experience in law helps lend credibility to his crime fiction books. He has also traveled extensively and gains inspiration for his crime thrillers from his travels. From observing other cultures and gaining new experiences, Jim is able to infuse new life into his books and develop believable characters that readers can identify with.

Frank James writes crime thriller novels that are gripping and suspenseful. In 2013, he began publishing The Lou Malloy Crime Series, which is expected to span 20 books. The series follows Lou Malloy, a hardened criminal who did 15 years in prison for the theft of $15 million, and his partner Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. The titles include The Run Begins, Dead Money Run, Only Two Cats, Blue Cat in Paradise, Rainbow Games, Two Birds To Kill, Last Flamingo, and Finders, Keepers.  J. Frank James creates all of his own book covers. To learn more, go to http://www.jfrankjamesbooks.com/

To purchase your own copy of Dead Money Run on Amazon, buy HERE

Connect with J. Frank James on Twitter, Goodreads, and Facebook.

 

Advertisements

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s